Contact Us  |  Career Opportunities  |  Municipal Code
Village of Glendale Heights
Vehicle Stickers
Village code requires all residents and businesses of Glendale Heights who own, operate, maintain, house, store, rent, lease, or have custody of a vehicle or series of vehicles that is/are registered with the Illinois secretary of state to an address within the village shall obtain a village vehicle license for the current year for the use of such vehicle on any public street or highway within the village. Residents of the village are required to present a valid current Illinois registration showing that the vehicle is registered to them at their Glendale Heights address, or acceptable proof of address, prior to obtaining a vehicle license. Adequate proofs of residency include a driver's license, utility bill, or lease.

Per Village Ordinance, overnight parking on Village streets is restricted to those vehicles having a valid vehicle sticker.

Within 45 days of moving into the Village or purchasing a vehicle, vehicle owners must purchase and display a current Village vehicle sticker on the vehicle's lower right windshield.

Between May 1st and May 15th of each year, the Village mails vehicle renewal applications for all vehicles which hold current vehicle stickers. The renewal application must be completed and mailed back, or processed in person at the Village prior to the deadline of June 30th. Vehicle stickers are valid from July 1st through June 30th of the following year. Important: failure to receive a license renewal application does not exclude late applicants from late fees or associated fines. We strongly recommend purchasing your stickers early to avoid lines and penalties.

Residents and businesses who fail to purchase and display a vehicle license sticker for their vehicle(s) by midnight on June 30th will be subject to late fees and citations.

Residents who bring home a business vehicle are required to provide a letter on company letterhead indicating to whom the vehicle is assigned with their home address as proof of residency and registration.

Passenger vehicle stickers are $15, motorcycle tags are $12, recreational vehicle stickers are $18, and trucks with B plates are $25. There is an additional price schedule for trucks based on their individual weights. (See below for complete Schedule of Fees). Failure to provide proof of residency of a Village address will result in sticker cost to be doubled.

Senior Citizen Rate
Qualifying senior citizens receive one sticker at no charge. Senior Citizen rate applies to a person 62 or older, by May 31st of the current season. Current driver's license must be furnished. A second senior in the household will receive a vehicle sticker is $5. As a convenience to senior citizens, stickers may be obtained at the Center for Senior Citizens.

Stickers are issued at no charge (one to a household) to the following:
  • Disabled Veteran (with DAV Plates).
  • Disabled residents with proof of disability from the Social Security Administration.
  • Senior Citizens, 62 years of age and older.
  • Glenside and Bloomingdale Fire Protection District Volunteers.
Buying In Person
If you'd rather buy your new sticker(s) in person instead of by mail, or need to provide proof of residency, you can do so at Village Hall during regular business hours, Monday through Friday, between 8:00am and 4:30pm, with extended hours on Thursday until 7:00pm. For your convenience, Village Hall will be open on Saturdays in June from 9:00am to 12pm (noon).

SCHEDULE OF FEES
Passenger Vehicles $15.00
Motorcycles $12.00
Recreational Vehicles  $18.00
   
Trucks by Plate Type  
B - $25.00 D - $35.00
F - $55.00 H - $60.00
J, K - $70.00 L, N, P, Q - $75.00
R, S, T - $80.00 V, X, Z - $100.00
   
License Transfer $1.00
Social Security Disability $0.00
* Senior Citizen (62 or older), 1st sticker $0.00
* Senior Citizen (62 or older), 2nd sticker $5.00
* Senior Citizen rate applies to a person 62 or older, by May 31st of the current season. Current driver's license must be furnished. A second senior vehicle sticker is $5.

Late Payment Penalty
A $10 penalty will be charged if application is received after the deadline date of June 30.
A $20 penalty will be charged if application is received after the deadline date of July 31.
A $30 penalty will be charged if application is received after the deadline date of August 31.

We strongly recommend purchasing your stickers early to avoid lines and penalties.

For more information, please contact the Administrative Services department at 630.260.6000.