Contact Us  |  Career Opportunities  |  Village Code
Village of Glendale Heights
Village of Glendale Heights
Side Menu Expand Button Expand Side Menu

Vehicle Stickers


Order Online Village code requires all residents and businesses of Glendale Heights who own, operate, maintain, house, store, rent, lease, or have custody of a vehicle or series of vehicles that is/are registered with the Illinois Secretary of State to an address within the village shall obtain a village vehicle license for the current year for the use of such vehicle on any public street or highway within the village. Within 45 days of moving into the Village or purchasing a vehicle, vehicle owners must purchase and display a current Village vehicle sticker on the vehicle's lower right windshield.

Residents of the village are required to present a valid current Illinois registration showing that the vehicle is registered to them at their Glendale Heights address, or acceptable proof of address, prior to obtaining a vehicle license. Adequate proofs of residency include a driver's license, utility bill, or lease. Residents who bring home a business vehicle are required to provide a letter on company letterhead indicating to whom the vehicle is assigned with their home address as proof of residency and registration. Failure to provide proof of residency of a Village address will result in sticker cost to be doubled.

Per Village Ordinance, overnight parking on Village streets is restricted to those vehicles having a valid vehicle sticker.

Between May 1st and May 15th of each year, the Village mails vehicle renewal applications for all vehicles which hold current vehicle stickers. The renewal application must be completed and mailed back, or processed in person at the Village prior to the deadline of June 30th. Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, the Village has extended the deadline to July 31st. Vehicle stickers are valid from July 1st through June 30th of the following year. Important: failure to receive a license renewal application does not exclude late applicants from late fees or associated fines. We strongly recommend purchasing your stickers early and online to avoid long lines and penalties.

Residents and businesses who fail to purchase and display a vehicle license sticker for their vehicle(s) by midnight of the due date will be subject to late fees and citations.

Stickers are issued at no charge (one to a household) to the following:
  • Disabled Veteran (with DAV Plates).
  • Disabled residents with proof of disability from the Social Security Administration.
  • Senior Citizens, 62 years of age and older with proof of age.
  • Glenside and Bloomingdale Fire Protection District Volunteers.
SCHEDULE OF FEES
Passenger Vehicles $15.00
Motorcycles $12.00
Recreational Vehicles $18.00
Trucks by Plate Type
B - $25.00

D - $35.00
F - $55.00 H - $60.00
J, K - $70.00 L, N, P, Q - $75.00
R, S, T - $80.00 V, X, Z - $100.00

License Transfer

$1.00
Social Security Disability $0.00
* Senior Citizen (62 or older), 1st sticker $0.00
* Senior Citizen (62 or older), 2nd sticker $5.00

* Senior Citizen rate applies to a person 62 or older, by May 31st of the current season. Current driver's license must be furnished. A second senior vehicle sticker is $5.

Buying Online

It's fast, easy and secure. To renew online, you'll need your application number found on your vehicle sticker renewal form. Zero-dollar renewals must be purchased by mail or in-person. If you are purchasing a sticker for a new vehicle, send a copy of your vehicle registration to vehiclestickers@glendaleheights.org. Vehicle stickers will be mailed within 5 business days of payment.

Buying In Person

If you'd rather buy your new sticker(s) in person instead of online or by mail, or need to provide proof of residency, you can do so at Village Hall during regular business hours, Monday through Friday, between 8:00am and 4:30pm, with extended hours on Thursday until 7:00pm. For your convenience, Village Hall will be open on Saturdays in July from 9:00am to 12:00pm. As a convenience to senior citizens, stickers may be obtained at the Center for Senior Citizens.

Late Payment Penalty

If you fail to purchase a vehicle sticker by the due date, a $10 penalty will be applied to your purchase; a $20 penalty will be applied after 30 days thereafter, and a $30 penalty will be applied 60 days thereafter.

For more information, please contact the Finance Department at 630.260.6000.